International Fisheries Science Prize

The International Fisheries Science Prize honors an organization or individual for their contribution to global fisheries science or conservation and is presented once every four years at the meeting of the World Fisheries Congress.  The prize is administered by the American Fisheries Society International Fisheries Section and is funded by the World Council of Fisheries Societies.  The nominations to this prize have no restrictions and all countries are encouraged to apply. The nominations must be made by individuals who belong to a member organization of the World Council of Fisheries Societies and should include at least three reference letters.

Selection criteria include: Candidate’s achievements, curriculum vitae, references, and an overall achievement and contribution evaluation.

Past Awardees:

2016 – Dr. Ray Hilborn, School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences at University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA

2012 – Dr. Ian Cowx, Hull International Fisheries Institute at The University of Hull, UK

2008 – Dr. Kurt D. Fausch, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA


Click here for more information about the current call for nominations for 2020.

Click here for more information about the AFS International Fisheries Section and its activities.